With the growing use the teams the usage of Office 365 groups is increasing is most tenant, to mange the groups administrators and users need a way to clean up unused groups. Now Office 365 offer this feature to set the expiration period.
When a group expires, all of its associated services (the mailbox, Planner, SharePoint site, team, etc.) will also be deleted the group will be marked as "soft-deleted" could be recovered for up to 30 days by the group owners or the administrator.
Once you set a group expiration policy:
- Groups with user activities are automatically renewed as the expiration nears.
- Owners of the group are notified to renew the group, if the group is not auto-renewed.
- Any group that is not renewed is deleted.
****
For more details on this please visit the official Microsoft page here here